Attorneys and the Americans with Disabilities Act Amendments Act (ADAAA)

September 15, 2009

By Thomas Moore, Office Manager

This week I was reading The Hennepin Lawyer, the magazine of the Minnesota Hennepin County Bar Association.

One article in particular caught my eye: Much ADAAA About Nothing: Recent Amendments to the Americans with Disabilities Act”.

The article was written by Michael Iwan and Chris Amundsen, two attorneys in Minnesota.  It is aimed at attorneys, so for laymen such as myself, it can be difficult reading.  So, I called upon one of my friends, Cynthia, from the Minnesota Association for Children’s Mental Health (MACMH).

An Advocate for Disabled Children comments on the amendments to Americans with Disabilities ACT (ADAAA)

Here is my slightly edited version of what Cynthia said about the Americans with Disabilities Act Amendment Act, based on the article.

It allows for protections even when the condition is in remission, improved by treatment, etc. so that a client would be protected during a future episode/crisis/etc.

It broadens and defines life activities which are impacted by a disability and which therefore fall under provisions of the Act.

It covers far many more people who can reveal possible problems without fear of reaction — I.E., if I have diabetes and ask my employer to let me take time off work to go to treatment if I have a low blood sugar attack, he can’t fire be because I have diabetes. And so on.

If you have other questions, contact ADA Minnesota.

Leave a Reply

